::: :::
  Productions Jeux d'Ombres
:::
:::

english

filmographie

à propos de nous

contactez-nous

accueil

:::

affiche A Project of the People

documentaire
52 min
anglais
BetacamSP
1996

réalisateurs
Beth Franklin
David Morley
producteurs
Salvatore V Barrera
Sara Morley
director photo
Salvatore V Barrera
montage
Salvatore V Barrera
Sara Morley

diffusion
Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU), Barbados
Government Information Service, St. Lucia

lieux de tournade
St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Grenada, Dominica

Le documentaire A Project of the People raconte l'évolution d'un projet de développement économique axé sur la participation, situé dans quatre Îles-du-vent des Petites Antilles : Dominique, Grenade, Saint-Lucie et Saint-Vincent. Les gens de la région crée une nouvelle approche au tourisme – "le tourisme écologique" – s'inspirant des forces de leur communauté, leur héritage culturel et leur environnement naturel spectaculaire. L'histoire est racontée par les villageois déterminés à créer un avenir durable pour leur communauté.

Ce documentaire est l'oeuvre de l'équipe canadienne ayant facilité ce projet unique et auto-géré. Il nous mène au coeur des vies des villageois antillais qui cherchent à comprendre leur passé, à revitaliser leur culture, à protéger leur environnement, tout en améliorant leur situation économique. Ils travaillent ensemble pour assurer leur propre futur.

A Project of the People souligne principalement l'engagement, l'énergie et la passion des villageois. Leurs témoignages permettent une réflexion approfondie sur la capacité d'initiative et d'autonomie des communautés rurales antillaises. Les montagnes escarpées et le paysage côtier des Îles-du-vent servent de toile de fond à cette histoire de détermination et d'engagement communautaire.

::: :::
  Productions Jeux d'Ombres
:::
:::

français

filmographie

about us

contac us

home

:::

poster A Project of the People

documentary
52 min
English
BetacamSP
1996

directors
Beth Franklin
David Morley
producers
Salvatore V Barrera
Sara Morley
director of photography
Salvatore V Barrera
editors
Salvatore V Barrera
Sara Morley

broadcast
Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU), Barbados
Government Information Service, St. Lucia

locations
St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Grenada, Dominica

A Project of the People explores the evolution of a development project which takes place in the Windward Islands of the Eastern Caribbean. Local people are creating a new kind of tourism – "nature tourism" – which draws on the strengths of their communities, their cultural roots, and their spectacular natural environments. This is the story of a participatory, grassroots process that has been taking place over the past six years in Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia and St. Vincent. It is told by village people determined to create sustainable futures for their communities.

This documentary was made by the Canadian team who facilitated this unique self-organizing project. It takes us into the lives of Caribbean villagers who are seeking their past, strengthening their culture, protecting their environment, and improving their economic situation. They are working together to invent their own futures.

A Project of the People draws mainly on the commitment, energy and passion of the villagers. Their words and the settings they have created provide intimate insights into the power of small rural communities in the Caribbean to help themselves. The dramatic mountain and coastal scenery of the Windward Islands provide the backdrop to this intense expression of community energy and determination. Their voices weave the narrative of their thoughts and enthusiasm.